Finalists for The Best FIFA Football Awards™ 2018 announce

Visit Us
Follow Me

The finalists for the Best FIFA Football Awards™ 2018 nominees have been released, amongst the nominees are, Cristiano Ronaldo, Marta, Zinédine Zidane, Asako Takakura and Hugo Lloris.

The finalists,were revealed today at a special media event held in London with FIFA Legends Sol Campbell, Kelly Smith, Nwankwo Kanu and Peter Schmeichel, have been recognised for their achievements in elite football between July 2017 and July 2018 – a period that saw the 2018 FIFA World Cup™ take place in Russia.

In a year that was filled with drama, action and excitement across both the men’s and women’s game, The Best FIFA Football Awards 2018 look set to build on the success of 2017’s event and return to London bigger and better than ever.

The winners will be crowned at the Royal Festival Hall (Southbank) on 24 September 2018, where the great and good of world football will descend upon the city to celebrate the very “best” the sport has to offer.

The shortlisted candidates for The Best FIFA Football Awards 2018 are:

The Best FIFA Men’s Player:

Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal/Juventus FC, formerly Real Madrid CF)
Luka Modrić (Croatia/Real Madrid CF)
Mohamed Salah (Egypt/Liverpool FC)
The Best FIFA Women’s Player:

Ada Hegerberg (Norway/Olympique Lyonnais)
Dzsenifer Marozsán (Germany/Olympique Lyonnais)
Marta (Brazil/Orlando Pride)
The Best FIFA Men’s Coach:

Zlatko Dalić (Croatia/Croatia national team)
Didier Deschamps (France/France national team)
Zinédine Zidane (France/formerly Real Madrid CF)
The Best FIFA Women’s Coach:

Reynald Pedros (France/Olympique Lyonnais)
Asako Takakura (Japan/Japan national team)
Sarina Wiegman (Netherlands/Netherlands national team)
The Best FIFA Goalkeeper:

Thibaut Courtois (Belgium/Real Madrid CF, formerly Chelsea FC)
Hugo Lloris (France/Tottenham Hotspur FC)
Kasper Schmeichel (Denmark/Leicester City FC)
FIFA Puskás Award:

Gareth Bale (Real Madrid CF) – v. Liverpool FC
Denis Cheryshev (Russia) – v. Croatia
Lazaros Christodoulopoulos (AEK FC) – v. Olympiacos FC
Giorgian De Arrascaeta (Cruzeiro) – v. América MG
Riley McGree (Newcastle Jets FC) – v. Melbourne City FC
Lionel Messi (Argentina) – v. Nigeria
Benjamin Pavard (France) – v. Argentina
Ricardo Quaresma (Portugal) – v. IR Iran
Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid CF) – v. Juventus FC
Mohamed Salah (Liverpool FC) – v. Everton FC
FIFA Fan Award:

Sebastián Carrera (Deportes Puerto Montt, Chile)
Peru fans
Japan and Senegal fans

Notes to editors

The winner of The Best FIFA Goalkeeper Award will be chosen by a specialist panel, while the winners of The Best FIFA Men’s Player, Women’s Player, Men’s Coach and Women’s Coach awards will be determined by the following votes:

• 25% from national team coaches
• 25% from national team captains
• 25% from select media representatives
• 25% online vote

The voting for the FIFA Puskás Award and the FIFA Fan Award is done entirely by the general public, and is now open at

The voting procedure for each of the awards will be supervised and monitored by an independent observer, PricewaterhouseCoopers (PwC) Switzerland.

The FIFA FIFPro World11 shortlist of 55 players will be announced on 10 September, at 13:00 BST, with the final 11 players revealed at the prestigious event on 24 September.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Enjoy this site? Please, spread the word.

Visit Us
Follow Me
WP Radio
WP Radio